Updates to the Blog, with some comments about Blogging and why Bloggers sometimes stop Blogging

I’ve changed the blog layout and theme to better reflect the hard earned truth that I’ll be blogging less and less on this site. There are some practical reasons for this.  Teaching requires me to read and write for a job.  When I get home or have free time, writing is one of the last things I feel like doing.  This has harmed my creative writing endeavors outside of this blog.  It pretty much works like this.  As a writer, you have only a certain amount of “writing juice.”  You have to pick where you use it.  That sounds silly to people who haven’t experienced the phenomenon. I’m sure writers who are reading this are nodding their heads and raising their coffee cups up to me in appreciation.  If you don’t know what I’m talking about then you don’t know what I’m talking about.

There is also an aspect of utility.  When I started this blog years and years ago, Facebook and Twitter didn’t have the ability to forward my thoughts.  This blog was the only way to send out my reaction to current events, what I thought about certain music and movies, etc.  Still, Facebook and Twitter feel small and hemmed in, and I’m keeping this blog around just in case the need hits me to write extemporaneously.

And the question of what I’m using my writing juice for if I’m not using my writing juice for the blog?  I’ve been working on a nonfiction book for a few years now. I want to have a workable, readable draft of it by next summer.

Blogging only works when you want to do it.  Blogging stops when it becomes a struggle.  There is something to be said, however, for simply cutting back as opposed to stopping.  I don’t see the point of announcing my resignation like some bold faced hero battle weary from war.  This is a blog, for god’s sake and I don’t take myself all that seriously.