I Write Stuff.

I’ve been spending most of the summer trying to write new stories and essays and getting those stories and essays published in different places.  One of my essays appeared in Cedars, and online journal.  Below is a short excerpt.  You’ll have to go to the site to read the whole thing.

The natural transition is to move away from the bar to a house, to a wife, to kids, to a family. Yard work on the weekends. Painting the walls. Trying to grow a vegetable garden in your backyard. Worry about the water-heater. When will it break? What will I do then? The natural transition is to move away from the selfish and embrace the collective growing of young people that look like you. You were raised and therefore you should raise. Why wouldn’t you want to do that? Why not spend the twilight of your life ensuring that, when you die, you leave behind a small bit of a living legacy?

When I think about that, living legacies and children with my genetic imprint, I get nauseous, my body physically rejecting what I’m supposed to be like a transplant that isn’t taking, the wrong blood type, a bad match, and now the liver that can save is being rejected by a body that needs it because the body would rather die than have something false.

How did I get here?

So, just in case you were wondering why I haven’t been posting in a while, that’s sort of why.  That’s for all the love.

