Thankful

1. I’m thankful I’m not dead.

2.I’m thankful for a job that I truly love, even though the job can and is often so frustrating that I could rip my soul open because of it.  But, I mean, that’s the way it probably is supposed to be. I am pushing information into people brains and I’m hoping that information stays there, actively trying to stop the information leaking out, as if I could put my fingers in their ears and physically stop it. I wish I could do that.

3. I’m thankful for my phone.  I know that sounds odd, being thankful for something that is basically an expensive toy. But there is so much information coming at me, I’d be lost without a gadget telling me where I’m supposed to be with the ability to communicate with people as fast as I need to.  Even though the New York Times basically called me a dinosaur. 

4. I’m thankful that I’m ok how I look.  I’m not nearly as appealing as I was ten years ago, but I’m not a monster, either.  My gut, my belly struggle, isn’t going away. That’s mainly because, when I get home, I tend to lay on the couch until hunger or my body smell forces me up, forcing me to dig for food and/or hose off.  I’m thankful that, even though I have absolutely no urge to do so, getting a girlfriend isn’t out of the realm of possibility. Possibilities.

5. I’m thankful that this asshole didn’t become President of the United States.

6. I’m thankful for my family and my friends. Even though I don’t see them as often as I’d like, they are alive and happy, and they aren’t offended by my uncomfortable discussions about bowel movements.

7. I’m happy that I have a healthy and consistent bowel movement schedule.

9. I’m thankful that I live in Washington DC. The other day, Sunday, I walked out my house and just walked down 14th street, down towards U Street.  Then I walked to Dupont Circle, Adams Morgan, got some food and headed home.  When I was a young buck, I never thought I’d live in a city.  It was my most abstract dream. Now I live here and do things here. I could be more active.  Still, I am very happy.

10. I’m thankful for you guys.

Happy Thanksgiving.

One thought on “Thankful

  1. I’m thankful for the excessive amounts of food I will consume then regret and the arbitrary arguments I’ll get into with my family. Happy Thanksgiving!

Comments are closed.