“Conventional Wisdom.”

I’ve known for some time that I’m a contrarian. It means, “I hate everything everyone likes.”   It isn’t that I hate what’s popular, but it’s that I vocalize it.  I say it and then I fight people about it. If I would keep my mouth shut, no one would care what I thought and they would never worry about it.  But, sometimes, I have to speak out. Mainly because I’m bored. Also because I like to write about stuff.

The new iPad Mini’s release is a prime example of “Conventional Wisdom.”  I’ve written about this before.  Essentially, Conventional Wisdom means that you stick to your believes, what you think is right, and you reject what other people say and believe.  You know that your truth is the right truth. You proselytize and convert others into true believers. The more people that believe your truth, the more it is true. The only time Conventional Wisdom shatters is when actual facts contradict it unforgivably   The Earth being round and the Earth going around the Sun are perfect examples.

I think I can make this a formula.

YOU + YOUR TRUTH = CONVENTIONAL WISDOM.

If someone doesn’t agree with the Conventional Wisdom, they are wrong. You not only have to call them out on it, but you have to basically rhetorically murder them. You have to question their faith in God, their patriotism, their sanity, their education. You knock them down, down, down, down until there is only them being marginalized. If someone disagrees with Conventional Wisdom, others might. If others do, then the strength of that wisdom is distorted and the Conventional Wisdom is no longer the Conventional Wisdom.

YOU + THE ACTUAL TRUTH OR SOMEONE’S BETTER TRUTH = VIOLENCE AND DEATH TO ALL NONE BELIEVERS!

Case in point. The iPad Mini.

It is not, not, not even a little bit, worth $329. 

It just isn’t. How could it be?  This little thing costs more than other little things very close to being similar to and like it.  Most of Apple’s products are expensive.  Generally, they are worth it. But the iPad Mini is the first product Apple has released where I not only rejected the idea of it, but questioned anyone who would buy it.

This is a problem for me because I’m a contrarian.  Do I dislike the new iPad Mini because I dislike everything popular? Or do I dislike it because it is absurdly expensive?

I like Apple products, for the most part. This is my second Macbook. This is a Pro and I had a Black Macbook before. I want a iMac because they are sooooo pretty!  And I have an iPad and have enjoyed my use of it.  But, when I think about my mobile experience, what I enjoy using when I’m on the couch, on the bus, wherever, I never think of the iPad as being enjoyable.  It’s too heavy.  Granted, I have an iPad one. But, the price of the newer iPads have never appealed to me. I thought it was always a price barrier. Now I’m thinking it’s more of my lack of love for the iOS. I just don’t like it. I never check my mail on my iPad. I never use the calendar. I never do really anything on it but watch “Fringe” on Amazon Prime.  Slowly, I’ve recently realized that I didn’t like using it.

What I’m about to tell you next is very dangerous. People who are hooked on their Conventional Wisdom will attack me. Nay, they may explode.

I recently bought a Blackberry Playbook. 

Now, I want to breath very slowly. It’s going to be OK! I promise.

I bought the Playbook because I got it super-cheap ($15oish) and because of it’s size. It’s small.  I wanted something that didn’t weigh twenty pounds. I didn’t want to buy a new iPad, because of the price and the operating system.  However, I don’t think anyone else should get a Playbook. They aren’t meant for the causal user, and there are many, many problems with it. But, I can say that I’ve enjoyed using it more in the last week than I ever have my iPad. Mainly because it’s smaller and lighter. But, also, I think the mobile OS on it makes sense to me.  If I were to design a tablet, it would be like that.

I had a hard time buying it, though. Once I bought it, I had a very hard time telling people.  I didn’t want the knives to come out.  There are those in our society who believe in their hurts that purchasing decisions are vital. We should spend our money on X, because I like X and you should to!  There is some survival issues with this.  No one is buying the Playbook.  Because of this, it has very, very few app options.  Lots of people like the iPad, so it has billions.  In order to survive, the iPad needs to have fans.  If someone knew I preferred a different tablet over the iPad, they might kill me.

Thankfully, however, the iPad mini was released with a price that makes me want to vomit up last year’s lunch.  It’s Twice the price of my Playbook! My purchasing decision is justified.  I’ve deeply enjoyed my Playbook experience, and I’ll deeply enjoy it for half the price of the iPad Mini.  Not only do I get to enjoy my purchase 100% attack-free, but the iPad Mini’s price leaves it’s self open to it’s Conventional Wisdom being destroyed.  Everyone assumed that Apple would make a tablet that would compete with Amazon Fire and other tablets. That was the Conventional Wisdom. Everyone was wrong. Apple made a tablet to….uh….make a shit ton of money. And they will. They always do. But, I think Apple lost something more.  Typical consumers of Apple’s fare for the first time glanced at Apple sideways. It’s a questioning glance.  Here, another formula.

IPAD MINI < OR = AMAZON FIRE AND OTHER TABLETS = UNQUESTIONABLE AMOUNTS OF FAME AND FORTUNE!

IPAD MINI > AMAZON FIRE AND OTHER TABLETS = A FEW PEOPLE BUYING THE CHEAPER THING INSTEAD BECAUSE MONEY STILL TALKS AND BULLSHIT STILL WALKS.

I could be wrong, however.

