Martin Luther King Day and Me

I’ve written a ton about class and race over the past year. It’s important for us to remember something today at the end of Martin Luther King Day. Some people believe it’s not a big deal to have a day off today.  But, I mean, we are doing it for a black civil rights leader. And the entire country is closed for a day for him, so, yeah, it’s a big damn deal.  Two, days like this don’t have to be celebrated. There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think of Martin Luther King.  He’s in our collective mind share.  So, don’t worry if you didn’t celebrate today. How would you do it, anyway? Get arrested?  I don’t have much more to say that I haven’t said already, so here are some links about what I’ve said.  Here is my post about what it means to be a black man, and what it means to be black in America. Here is my post where I connect the civil rights movement to the gay rights movement.  Here is one of my post about class.  I hope you had a good day off.  Get some rest. We all don’t have to go to work tomorrow.  But all us poor cats sure do.

