The Occupation Will Be Televised, Part 2: I was Wrong

When I last wrote about this, I was skeptical. I’m not sure why.  I’m not now.  I’m jealous.  I’ve made a decision in my life to do a certain thing, and I don’t have the energy, or the reckless abandon, to go to New York, camp out, and fight. That’s what these people are doing.  Whether they will win the fight or not, that doesn’t matter.  It is the fact that people are trying to do something.  I asked a while ago why people didn’t take to the streets to protest.  I’m not sure why, when they did go to the streets, I welcomed them with a critical eye and a “this might not work” attitude.  To the men and women, the brave men and women, sleeping and chanting and fighting down there, I apologize for my skepticism.  You have my complete and utter support.  Change doesn’t happen when you vote for someone, or when you buy something, or when you recycle a fucking water bottle.  It’s when people yell and yell and yell until they can’t be ignore.  To Occupy Wall Street: Thank you.  And be careful.

