Looking from the top of Their Mountain, We are all doing it wrong.

So, Mike Huckabee said this about single mother’s the other day.

You know Michael, one of the things that’s troubling is that people see a Natalie Portman or some other Hollywood starlet who boasts of, ‘Hey look, you know, we’re having children, we’re not married, but we’re having these children, and they’re doing just fine.’ But there aren’t really a lot of single moms out there who are making millions of dollars every year for being in a movie. And I think it gives a distorted image that yes, not everybody hires nannies, and caretakers, and nurses. Most single moms are very poor, uneducated, can’t get a job, and if it weren’t for government assistance, their kids would be starving to death and never have health care. And that’s the story that we’re not seeing, and it’s unfortunate that we glorify and glamorize the idea of out of children wedlock. You know, right now, 75 percent of black kids in this country are born out of wedlock. 61 percent of Hispanic kids — across the board, 41 percent of all live births in America are out of wedlock births. And the cost of that is simply staggering.

The problem with this, for me, is simple.  Instead of criticizing the capitalistic society that we have, a society that demands winners and demands losers, instead of criticizing that, and instead of criticizing men, because Huckabee doesn’t mention the man’s role in the “Single Mother” formula, and instead of dealing with the social and political climate that allows babies to “Starve to death”, Mike Huckabee attacks single moms.  Woman should stop being single moms.  Problem solved, let’s move past it, right?

I keep my religious believes to myself, the best I can. But it is hard for me to agree with anything a person says when one thing they say is completely flawed.  And there is absolutely no reason why I should agree with conservative values when many conservatives sit on top of a mountain, looking down on the rest of us, pointing and casting judgement, as if they are better than us, as if they know more than us, as if they breath special air, as if they are allowed something more than we are.  If I have to choose a side, and I guess I do, I would rather sit on the side of the people who don’t judge, the people who dare not believe they are the better people, than the side that constantly, constantly says that there is a right and a wrong way to live, and that I and the people I love and care for are living the wrong way.

