Impressions: Dead Space 2

Dead Space 2 might be the perfect video game.  Ok, ok, ok.  It isn’t perfect. It has problems in it.  A few and a ton.  But the basics of the game are amazingly solid. You are a guy and you are on a space station and there are monsters and you have to shoot their legs and arms off in order to kill them.  That’s it.  It is amazingly simple, but it is hard.  Really, really, really hard.  It reminds me of how people used to complain about Call of Duty on Vetaren or the Halo games on Legendary.  Except Dead Space is stupid hard on Normal.  It is manageable on casual, it would make you cry on survivalist and I don’t even want to know about Zealot or Hard Core.  I will never play any of that crap.  Why would I want to do that!

That’s what Dead Space 2 did.  It made a game that you have to respect.  Why?  Because the game doesn’t cheat.  There aren’t infinite enemies.  If you go into a room, there are a certain number of monsters you have to fight and that number doesn’t change.  But how the monsters attack you change all the time.  They are smart and they are mean and they want to kill you.  Why?  I don’t know.  The story sort of sucks. Some Marker or something.  Whatever.  But, I mean, it is so scary.  There was a scene where I was walking through a hallway and the lights just went dark.  Completely dark. I stood there and waited and waited until the lights came on.  I was scared crapless.  Yeah, I know it’s just a video game.  But that’s the point.  It’s a video game that will creep you out.  It’s fun and stuff, yeah.  But it sort of shows you how a video game can be. It can be creative, it can be smart and, when it wants to be, it can be terrifying.  I can’t wait to play it again.

