The Daily Daily: The DC Metro and “Random Searches”

So, I take the bus and the DC Metro everywhere I go.  And, most days, I’m gone, so I have to use it on a regular basis.  It isn’t as bad as you think.  There is a ton of waiting and a ton of days where I’m soaking wet.  But, most days it is a convenient, pleasurable experience.  And then, you realize, the terrorist won.  The Metro announced today that they would be performing “Random Carry-on searches” throughout the Metro system.  Hello guys with guns and dogs walking around.  I feel so much safer.

The inspections will be conducted in conjunction with Transportation Security Administration officials and are expected to take only minutes and are designed to be non-intrusive, as police will randomly select bags or packages to check for hazardous materials using ionization technology as well as K-9 units trained to detect explosive materials. Carry on items will generally not be opened and physically inspected unless the equipment indicates a need for further inspection.

Honestly, I’m not surprised by this.  The DC Metro is one of the most famous in the country and it is a central part of the city.  Blowing a train up is a goal of terrorist. Sometimes, though, I want to pretend that everything is ok.  You can want stuff all you want.  Doesn’t mean you’ll get it.  Happy Thursday.

