Rest in Peace, Mr. Kershner.

If you know me, then you know what my favorite movie is. Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back.  So, quick.  Tell me.  Who directed it?  Seriously.  Who directed it?  Irvin Kershner directed it.  Not George Lucas.  Not many people know that.  The brilliant director of one of my favorite movies passed away today, at 87.  CNN reports:

In his 40-year career in film and television, he worked with several screen luminaries. In the 1960s and 70s, he directed Robert Shaw in “The Luck of Ginger Coffey,” Sean Connery in “A Fine Madness,” George C. Scott in “The Flim-Flam Man,” Eva Marie Saint in “Loving,” Barbra Streisand in “Up the Sandbox,” Richard Harris in “Return of a Man Called Horse,” and Faye Dunaway in “Eyes of Laura Mars.” He also directed Connery as James Bond in “Never Say Never Again.”

Thanks, Mr. Kershner.  Thank you for a part of my childhood.

