The Daily Daily: Rolling The Obama Stone Interview Thingy

A new Rolling Stone article has been floating around the interwebs.  I’ve read it.  You can read it here.  For the most part, well, to be honest, for all the parts, Obama does two things in the interview:  He explains why his first two years were extremely hard, why people got mad when the brother couldn’t walk on water, and why the Republicans are a bunch of jerk balls. Reading it, you get the real sense that he’s thought about all this and you get the real sense that Rolling Stone couldn’t ask a tough, hard hitting question if you gave them one and slipped it into their notebook.  However, you do get some nice quotes out of it.  From the Obama, referring to the horrible health-care fight and the Progressive moves he’s been making:

I could have had a knock-down, drag-out fight on the public option that might have energized you and The Huffington Post, and we would not have health care legislation now. I could have taken certain positions on aspects of the financial regulatory bill, where we got 90 percent of what we set out to get, and I could have held out for that last 10 percent, and we wouldn’t have a bill. You’ve got to make a set of decisions in terms of “What are we trying to do here? Are we trying to just keep everybody ginned up for the next election, or at some point do you try to win elections because you’re actually trying to govern?” I made a decision early on in my presidency that if I had an opportunity to do things that would make a difference for years to come, I’m going to go ahead and take it.

I am still a fan of this President, and he did make me want to vote for these mid-term elections. Change is never easy.  Ask anyone and they will tell you that they would rather stay the same than change for the better.  However, if you can’t change, you die.  And most people are pulled, kicking and screaming, to the world of the future.

