The Daily Daily: Rest in Peace, Blockbuster. Actually, no, I hope you Rest in some serious pain

If only I could bury you twice....

Once, there was this place called Blockbuster.  We rented movies from them.  It was weird.  You had to pay to get the movie and you could only keep it for a few days, then you had to give it back.  If it was late, you had to pay.  The selection was about as good as a root canal and half the time, people would get all the good movies before you could.  It was a good idea, just like voting for Ronald Reagan was a good idea.  Then, Netflix came.  Ten bucks a month.  Movies come to me.  No late fees.  Yes.  Yes.  A thousand times, yes.  Suddenly, we questioned Blockbuster.  Why should I get late fees?  Three bucks for two days?  And, wait, I can stream movies off my computer with Netflix?  Off my television with Netflix?  For no extra charge?  So, yes, Blockbuster is dead.  Well, it is dying.  If I had a knife, I’d help out the dying.  We helped kill you, Blockbuster.  We’d do it again.  And again and again and again.  Give me a shovel.  Let’s go ahead and put you in the ground, warm and crying.  I’ve hated you all my life and didn’t know it, Blockbuster.  You were a jerk and no one will remember you.

One thought on “The Daily Daily: Rest in Peace, Blockbuster. Actually, no, I hope you Rest in some serious pain

  1. To supplement Netflix we’ve got Redbox, for when “Long Wait” is just too long for a new release. $1 a day, and you can return it to ANY Redbox. Oh, and I can reserve the movie I want from a local Redbox online or from my iPhone?

    Yes please.

Comments are closed.