Impressions: Borderlands

 

"Did you have to shot it?" "No. I don't have to shot you either."

Borderlands is the type of video game you don’t want to buy.  You do want to buy it.  But you don’t want to buy it.  You don’t want it because you know that your life will be completely ruined if you get it.  I mean, it will be over.  I caught myself, more than once, playing until past midnight with the sheer hope of finding a gun that will solve all my problems.  Yes!  This gun will melt people!  But wait!  This gun will electrocute people!  But wait!  This gun will set people on fire!  Add the need for better loot, plus the in-born need of every video game player to completely and utterly do everything that a video game has to offer and you’ve got Borderlands: The Skittles in disc form.  But is the game fun?  Or is it just a nice, easy way to waste a few hours of your life until you find something better to do?  Wait, isn’t that the very definition of a video game?  Read further, my brothers and sisters.

 

So, basically, Borderlands is a First-Person-Shooter with slight Role-Playing-Game elements.  You are one of four characters taking on the mission to find “The Vault”!  What’s in the Vault?  Spoiler Alert!  I have no idea.  Every time I beat the game (and that’s twice now) I never actually get to see the Ending because I die right when the cut scene starts and I don’t see a damn thing.  Regardless, you go on mission after mission to find pieces of the Vault Key so you can open the Vault and get the loot that’s inside.  While you are trying to find all this, you are trying to help the locals and you are murdering hundreds of insane psychopaths and evil soldiers.

Great!

-Co-op.  You can play with up to four players in a drop in/drop out co-op system and it is wonderful.  The only thing that makes co-op not fun is being tired because it’s five in the morning.  Playing with a group of friends and running around the map shooting bandits is just sheer amazing and everyone should take advantage of the co-op system.

-Loot.  There is so much loot and you can never have enough of it.  There are guns that make you think there can never be a better gun and then BAM you find a better gun.  That, plus shield upgrades and gun-mods and you have plenty of reasons to look all over the huge map to find weapon chests.

Good.

-The battles in the game are always a great time.  You think you’ll get bored until you come across about fifteen bad guys who are utterly insane.  The battles are good, good, good stuff and you barely make it out of these scraps alive.  There is a nice balance between your stats and the stats of the dudes you are fighting, which makes the game nice and interesting.  The RPG elements work well, too, making the game something you can interact with and constantly have a goal insight.

 

Bad.

 

Tons of clichés, tons of clichés, tons of clichés.  I went to take a guy out that was hiding in an outpost.  The guy at the outpost was gone.  Actually, he was under the damn ground.  The waypoint refused to show me where the guy was stashed.  Later, when I’m randomly walking through the same outpost, there the guy is, shooting and running and laughing.  The game’s waypoint is just one of the problems.  All the Non-playable characters either are trying to kill you or are just standing, looking at you.  One character sent me into a trap.  After I survived the trap, and went to kill the guy who set me up, I couldn’t do a thing to him.  The game needed more characters that were interacting in the world and less just fixtures that say a few pieces of text and then stare at you blankly.

Huh?  So, when you beat the game?  What?  Do you start over?  Do something different?  I’m confused.  Borderlands is a solid game, and a great way to fill the gap between nothing and Modern Warfare 2.  Which comes out next week.  And which will probably stop me from playing Borderlands ever again.  Oh, well.

 

 

