Netflixing: Sunshine

Yep, I like my Netflix subscription.  You get a movie, you watch it, you enjoy it.  Good stuff.  I’ve been trying to catch up on all the tv/movie stuff that I’ve missed while I was busy being radical.  This week, I decided to pick up Danny “28 Days Later” Boyle’s 2007 flick, Sunlight.  And, man, I have never loved and then hated a movie faster than I did this flick.  It makes absolutely no sense what they did to this movie.  I mean, huh?  What?  The last twenty minutes just completely blew my mind-brain out.  This movie whigged me out so much, I’m not even going to warn you about anything.  Sorry, hey, I’m going to ruin the movie for you?  Keep reading.

So, the Sun, our Sun, is dying.  So we send space-ships to put a bomb inside it and blew up and start a new one.  Pretty awesome.  Earth sends one ship and then it losses contact.  So we send another one, full of young dudes and chicks yelling to blew the Sun back to health.  Uh…You know what I mean.  The crew decides, after hearing the first ships distress call, to go and check the ship out.  Which, of course, was a really, really bad idea.  Here is a hint.  If you are on a mission to save the planet, TRY NOT TO DO ANYTHING STUPID!  One bad mistake after the other results in people dying left and right and then, THEN, the captain of the first ship is alive and he sneaks onto the second ship and kills people and he doesn’t have any skin and he’s all burned and he’s a villian.  Really.  I’m serious.

I don’t understand why a movie, which was really good, stops itself from being good and just goes to complete crap.  Sunshine didn’t need a villian.  It didn’t need a guy with no skin running around killing people.  It just needed to keep going through the natural drama that results from people trying to re-light the Sun.  Why is that complicated?  Ugh.  Anyway, if you want to check it out, here is the link to its Netflix home.  Please, leave a comment.

One thought on “Netflixing: Sunshine

Comments are closed.