The End of the “R” Word.

Ugh.  I cant even say something on TV?  This was a horrible idea...

"Ugh. I can't even say something on TV? This was a horrible idea..."

I say it.  Not all the time, but I say it.  I also say the “F” word and the “N” word and the “B” word and the horrible “J” word.  I swear too much.  When I’m mad, I’ll say the worst things possible under my breath, because it is much better than actually punching someone in the face.  But it looks like we need to stop and, I don’t know, be more respectful and stuff.  There’s even a day about the “R” word, straight from CNN:

March 31 is being billed a “national day of awareness,” a call to Americans to recognize and rethink their use of the word “retard,” or as the organization would prefer, the “R-word. Most people don’t think of this word as hate speech, but that’s exactly what it feels like to millions of people with intellectual disabilities, their families and friends,” a statement about the campaign reads. “This word is just as cruel and offensive as any other slur.” The push for increased respect is being spearheaded by young people who are collecting pledges or vows to not use the word at http://www.r-word.org/, and are leading online discussions on how people can get involved in this cause.

After the President of the United States said something stupid on National Television, and some woman got made about it, it looks like we might have to start calling dumb people something else. But we should be sensitive to the feelings of everyone, no matter how much fun saying a word is. So, I suggest using different terms.  I like “Ass-hat” and “Ass-Neck”.  My favorite might be the old-school “Dumby”, but it doesn’t always fit the situation.  Peep the President’s mistake after the break.

2 thoughts on “The End of the “R” Word.

  1. I am going with “turkey.” It is what my friend’s dad calls people when he is really angry. You may say, “Kevin…that is too harsh!” However, I feel it conveys the sentiment perfectly.

    Although, after thinking about it…it may be offensive towards turkeys. Dammit.

Comments are closed.