The Top Five Sci-Fi Movies of All time.

Continuing the top-five for five, we have the top five science fiction movies of all time. This is a list generated by me, for me.  If you disagree with my list, or believe this list was written in error, please check your face and try again.  Cause I’ll punch you!

Serenity: This was a recent viewing for me.  I like it because it is, of course, cowboys in space.  But it is a little more than that.  There is a rare and very real love for science fiction in this movie.  It doesn’t apologize and it doesn’t try and hyper-explain.  It doesn’t do the annoying job of trying and make the science fiction relevant to our day and times.  Its just good. I mean, Summer Glau kicks and punches people the entire time.  How can I not want to watch that?

The Matrix: Not the second or third ones, cause they made absolutely no sense.  But the first one?  Science Fiction amazement.

Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back:  The second one should be the best one.  Amazing action coupled with the best light saber duals and the father/son complication.

Primer: I can’t do this movie justice, so I’ll let someone else do it.  Mr. Roger Ebert, ladies and gentlemen! The movie delights me with its cocky confidence that the audience can keep up. “Primer” is a film for nerds, geeks, brainiacs, Academic Decathlon winners, programmers, philosophers and the kinds of people who have made it this far into the review. It will surely be hated by those who “go to the movies to be entertained,” and embraced and debated by others, who will find it entertains the parts the others do not reach. It is maddening, fascinating and completely successful.

The Fountain: I’ve never watched a movie before that actually made me at ease with the idea of dying.  That’s pretty much all I’ll say about this movie.

You got better ones?  I’m sure you’ll leave a comment.  You guys always do.

3 thoughts on “The Top Five Sci-Fi Movies of All time.

  1. Hmmm…
    Have yet to see ‘Serenity’…probably going to pick up Firefly and watch that first.
    Never even heard of Primer until now…

    The other three, however, I know very well.
    The Matrix – one of my favorites. I enjoy the sequels, too, though not as much. The story, however, was the least of my qualms with them.

    Empire Strikes Back – not my favorite, but it does indeed have the best script of the entire series. However, I prefer Return of the Jedi and Revenge of the Sith [despite the latter’s piss-poor acting at some moments – particularly from Portman, who can and has done much, much better than that]. Despite general consensus that the prequels suck, I enjoy them – and believe the lightsaber duels outshine anything in the old trilogy [especially Episode I]. I find it funny, too, that the most common gripe outside of the overabundance of special effects is that the prequels had terrible acting. I suppose most people don’t realize that the acting in the original trilogy was nothing special – at all.

    The Fountain, I did not like. It was my first Aronofsky film, and I walked away with a bitter taste. It might be a film that I need a repeat viewing to take everything in, but I have yet to give it that chance. I will still likely be first in line for the director’s future works after taking a chance on ‘The Wrestler’ – which was absolutely amazing.

    As for my personal favorites, in no particular order:
    -The Matrix
    -Blade Runner
    -The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951) [the remake was absolute trash – and I had to sit through it twice. Still a little upset about that.]
    -Sunshine
    -Terminator 2

    Others that are very, very close:
    -Dark City
    -Equilibrium

  2. Serenity definitely makes it into my top five as well. I’m sure you already know this, but you should really check out Firefly (the TV series that comes before Serenity) as well.

  3. I was going to say Dark City, but it is only good if you watch it every five years or so. But it is one of my favorites. Blade Runner never impacted me, and that bothers my soul sometimes. Equilibrium, huh. What’s that about?

Comments are closed.