The Slow, Steady Cooking of Our Brains. I Guess its a Bad Thing…

Actually, its a well know fact that Einstein invented Twitter.  How else are you going to figure out the speed of light?

Actually, its a well known fact that Einstein invented Twitter. How else are you going to figure out the speed of light?

I love all my social networking tools.  Facebooking, twittering, linkedin, they are all awesome and I would be hard pressed to give them up.  But is there such a thing as “Too” much distractions?  Am I ruining my brain pan? Cooking it to the point where I can’t even keep a complete sentence? Huh?  What was I typing?  Wired has a pretty cool article about it here.  Uh, I think this is a piece from that.  I’m not sure, I was snooping on Myspace.  Sorry.

Jackson: We’re living in highly interrupted ways. Studies show that information workers now switch tasks an average of every three minutes throughout the day. Of course that’s what we have to do to live in this complicated world.

Wired.com: How do these interruptions affect us?

Jackson: This degree of interruption is correlated with stress and frustration and lowered creativity. That makes sense. When you’re scattered and diffuse, you’re less creative. When your times of reflection are always punctured, it’s hard to go deeply into problem-solving, into relating, into thinking.

It won’t matter much, anyhow.  In the near future, everyone will communicate through text-speak.  ROTFL. LOL. BRB. MLF.  I don’t even know what that last one even means.  Peep the cool Hulu commercial after the break, that speaks about this very thing.

