Sleeping-In Makes Better People

Get more sleep, or youll pass out on the train and then someone will steal your wallet and youll have to spend all day on the phone cancelling your credit cards.  Its called pervention.

Get more sleep, or you'll pass out on the train and then someone will steal your wallet and you'll have to spend all day on the phone canceling your credit cards. Its called prevention.

I’ve always had a horrible time sleeping.  Every since I was a kid, I would fight sleep as much as possible.  Staying up until two or three and waking up at noon?  Yes, I would really like to do that.  Sadly, being an adult means that you have to wake up earlier and earlier, and go to bed at around ten or eleven like a grandmother.  Is something wrong with me?  Am I the problem, or is the “Man”?  Thankfully, Wired has given me some insight on the situation, as they aslways do.  They give us Three reasons to sleep in, like there aren’t way more than three.  But these are really, really good reasons.

Research by Henry Ford Hospital Sleep Disorders Center found that people who slept eight hours and then claimed they were “well rested” actually performed better and were more alert if they slept another two hours. That figures. Until the invention of the lightbulb (damn you, Edison!), the average person slumbered 10 hours a night.

I buy that ten hour a night thing.  So nice.  And then laying in bed all day when it is cold and cloudy and watching movies and texting?  That is the key to being healthy.  Trust a brother.

