The Wire Through The Wire…

Right on the Front lines of the Gay Rights Movement...

Omar: Right on the Front lines of the Gay Rights Movement...

Oh, The Wire.  Why can this show be so good, and other shows be so bad?  There is an excellent Commentary by John Blake, delving deep, oh so deep, into the awesomeness that is the Baltimore City Drama.  If you never watched the Wire, I’m sure billions of your friends have begged you to do so. Its just an amazing show.  Its about drugs!  Everyone loves drugs.  Here is a sample from Blake’s piece:

Critics say “The Wire” offers the most realistic depiction of America’s inner-city subculture ever seen. I decided to test that claim because I grew up in the West Baltimore community where “The Wire” is set. After watching all five seasons, my take on the show is ambivalent. Some of “The Wire” is real, but not in the ways you might expect.

Blake even makes an “Obama” mention.  Is there no place save from the beauty and sunshine that is the Obama?  I’m eating cake right now.  Does Obama like cake too?  I’m sorry.  I have no idea where I’m going with this. After the break, peep one of my favorite clips from “The Wire”.

2 thoughts on “The Wire Through The Wire…

  1. Is there a way I can get in touch with John Blake, of CNN? His article on “The Wire” is excellent. I dived pretty deeply into Baltimore’s street life in the mid-1970s and wrote a small book about my experiences: “Doing Drugs With Baltimore: Lessons in Depravity” (“Baltimore” was the street name of Louis Oliver Taylor, my friend for many years and one of the most notorious pimps and drug dealers in Baltimore during the forties, fifties, and sixties).

    I have the complete book in a text file of about 15,000 words. I’m not looking for publisher or any kind of help; I just think John Blake and I have had some common experiences he’d enjoy reading about.

    Ted Logan

  2. Sadly, I don’t have any contact with Mr. Blake personally. But, if you head to CNN, I’m sure they have a contact link you can tab. And, for your protection, I took out your contact info. There are some creepy guys out there, man.

Comments are closed.