MTV to make more reality television. We put the collective gun barrel into our collective mouths…

Wow. A show about hot, rich white girls.  Completely original.

Wow. A show about hot, rich white girls. Completely original.

Its funny.  Since I received this “cable” thing and started “watching television” again, I’ve avoided MTV all together.  I have absolutely no idea what channel it is on, and I can say without any doubt that I’ve never watched any of it this year.  I’m not surprised that MTV’s ratings have dropped.  You know what MTV use to show?  Music videos.  I know right!  I use to watch it when they showed music videos because I wanted to keep up on the music young people watch…I mean listen to…whatever.  To boost their sagging ratings, MTV has decided to do MORE of what I hate: Reality TV.  But its Obama reality television, that speaks to young people who didn’t want to vote for McCain and his little monster.  From Variety:

“Our new shows will feature themes of affirmation and accomplishment,” says Brian Graden, prez of entertainment at MTV Networks music channels and president of Logo. “Our shows are going to focus less on loud and silly hooks and more on young people proving themselves. These are themes that are consistent with the Obama generation.”

Do you really want to know what the “Obama Generation” is into?  Music videos.  When MTV wants to start showing those again, we’ll be here.

4 thoughts on “MTV to make more reality television. We put the collective gun barrel into our collective mouths…

  1. And rollingstone magazine was on the “cutting edge” of music at one time too.. Obviously they didn’t want conscious rap on the cover, which would really tie into
    the “obama generation”, where people want action, demand it in fact. They went the “sex sells” route and played the part of entertainment/tv guide. I think both media venues are having an identity crisis, It’s better this way though, their shoveling their own graves. Viva la revolution. By the way, I went to the dentist and there’s no cavities in my molars, no gun powder either.

  2. Rolling Stone and MTV both represent the downfall of actual music reporting and the victory for major corporations everywhere. And why are we talking about your teeth?

Comments are closed.