Nightlife: Good Evening

This is a reposting of my final piece for the Star News. Oh, man.  The tears!

This is my last column.

Automatically, the idea that I’m being canned, that the column has been a by-product of our odd recession, pops up in the head.  Doesn’t it?  He finally went too far, he crossed the line, he said something he never should have said and “the Man” is sending him down the road with a stick and a handkerchief to stuff his few belongs: a pistol and a picture of his last, true love.

Nope, I’m not being fired.  Instinctively, I want to be vague and mysterious. But Wilmington has been really good to me.  So I’m going to share.  I received my Masters in Creative Writing from UNCW in May and I found a teaching job in Rockville, Maryland starting in September.  So that’s that.  Putting it down with words makes it seem like the most simple of things, something that I should want and be happy about.  An old saying finally has some clarity to me, now.  You ain’t gotta go home, but you can’t stay here.

Continue reading

