The Problem with Indiana Jones 4…

I’m going to be honest, because someone needs to be.  No one is excited about Indiana Jones 4.  No one.  I’m a huge fan of the movies, and I thought my head was going to explode when I heard they were going to make a new one.  But I’ve see the trailers.  I’ve read some stuff.  I’ve looked at the movie poster.  And I’m not impressed.

Part of the problem are the trailers.  They are uninteresting, hiccuping messes.  We get short little bits of the action, of some explosions, of some good stuff. But we haven’t seen anything in the trailers that make us say, “Awesome!”.  The trailers only make us say, “Cool!”  I’m sorry.  Cool isn’t enough.  And I’ll tell you why.

Somethings should just be put out to pasture and let die.  Raiders of the Lost Ark and Temple of Doom are movie brilliance.  They are paced well, with wonderful action and both have great stories.  Last Crusade was good.  But it wasn’t great, and it was no where near as good as the Temple of Doom.  I damn near want to day that Temple of Doom is an adventure masterpiece, just like Empire Strikes Back.  Whenever you make a sequel, you are basically saying that you can do much better than you did last time.  Last Crusade did OK, but it didn’t beat Temple of Doom.  I’m not sure why Spielberg needs to try again.   An artist should always know when to just give up.  Making The Crystal Skull or whatever its called is just another reason for people to say, it isn’t as good as Temple of Doom, because no much is.

This feels like just another pay-day to me, without any real weight behind it.  Not everything is meant to be repeated.  I might be wrong.  I hope I am.  But repackaging is old news.  And it takes a lot to impress us nowadays.

One thought on “The Problem with Indiana Jones 4…

Comments are closed.