The Movies: The Happening

So, yeah, M. Night Shyamalan pretty much makes me disgusted.  It’s not his movies, not really.  It is the reaction his movies get from the people who watch them.  I mean, I can’t count on my fingers and toes how many twist endings I’ve gotten from students.  They believe this to be good writing, and can’t tell the difference between movie making and writing stories.  There is a difference, by the way.  And if you want to see a writing instructor frustrated, then ask them to explain the difference.  It’s like trying to explain sex to a deaf person.  You usually have to resort to creative hand motions.

 So, here is the trailer to The Happening.  A nice abstract title for a movie with an abstract trailer.  Will the movie be abstract?  Let me guess, we’ll never know what is killing these people.  There will be a lot of fear and panic.  And, at the end, the main character will come to some amazing realization of himself that could not have happened if the Happening didn’t, you know, happen.  I don’t like people using our innate fear of dying as a promoter for ticket sales.  And I’m rather dumb-founded that I’m not use to it by now.

