The End: Esquire vs. The Men in Power…

I don’t mean for Esquire to take up so much of my attention.  It’s just the way it turns out.  In the April issue, there is a profile by Thomas P.M. Barnett of Admiral Fallon, once the Head of Operations and stuff in the middle east.  I googled Fallon after I read the article, because I wanted to see about why he resigned.  It turned out he resigned BECAUSE of the article. From CNN:

“Although I don’t believe there have ever been any differences about the objectives of our policy in the Central Command area of responsibility, the simple perception that there is makes it difficult for me to effectively serve America’s interests there.”

The profile made it seem like Fallon was the only thing stopping the US from bombing Iran to death.  Who knows whether that is true or not. But the article made it seem that way.  Esquire has never had any love for the current administration.  And Mr. Barnett is a genius.   He came up with a very interesting plan that not only made sense out of globalization, but poised it as the savior of our time.  I don’t agree with everything (or anything)  that Barnett says, but you can’t write a profile without having an angle.  And no profile is published without an editor reading it.  And no magazine goes to print without the Publisher of the magazine giving it a thumbs up.  Esquire knew exactly what it was doing, and I’m curious to see what they do next after causing a major military figure to resign.

